top of page

My name is April. I am 24 years old and homeless

I was born and raised in Tacoma. I get kicked out of every parking lot, restaurant or community establishment I walk into. For no other reason then Homeless-Loitering. I was really on the verge of ending my life when my boyfriend Andrew and I saw the sign for a place to shower and have a meal and possibly do some laundry. Without this place, I don't honestly think I would be here. They welcomed us without judgement, gave us a place to sit and remember we were people and do matter.

We are able to shower off the nasty, smelly homelessness society had placed on us, so we can go into public and not feel judged by how we appear giving us confidence to seek employment. We no longer have to spend 5 hours looking for a place to get some clean water or a place to use the restroom. When you are homeless, nobody will allow you in their establishment especially to use the restroom.

They have helped me, here at the day center, in more ways than I think they will ever know. They give me something to look forward to everyday. The only thing I would ask for is longer hours. They close early, in my opinion. It puts us back in parking lots and on the streets at 3:00. Because of them, I will soon have my medical which will lead to counseling and medication then allowing me to be able to focus on finding a job and housing. They truly are hero's here and have saved more than one persons life and I will be forever grateful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page